All about Layering 2

I know this seems a bit out of order, but I decided to continue in the Altenew Educator Programme. This class concentrated on looking at different layering stamps and how to make the most of them.

My best card from this class uses the Peony Bouquet stamp set. I have previously used this stamp set a lot because I love the big flower in it. I decided for this one that I would use parts of the stamp set that I hadn’t before, like the leaves and the small flower.All about layering 2 a name 2 I  played about with the leaves to create a background. I layered some of them, whereas others I just used the outline stamp. For the colours, I used: Frayed Leaf, Forest Glades and Evergreen. (All from the Green Fields Mini Cube Set)

This brought a nice texture to the card so that all it needed was something simple. I used: Sea Breeze, Turquoise, Tide Blue, Jet Black and Frayed Leaf ink pads to create the small flower.

I then fussy cut it and used foam pads to make the flower stand out. The ‘Thinking of You’ stamp is from the Floral Shadow stamp set. The overlapping of the side panel with the sentiment brings a bit more depth to the card.

All about layering 2 a name 1

Things I learnt from ‘All about Layering 2’

  • You do not always have to use all the layers if any in the layering stamps
  • One stamp set can produce many looks
  • To have the confidence to go my own way when creating a card

All about layering 2 a name

Deciding which card to use was a difficult decision, the card below was my second choice. Mainly because it used the same stamp set as my contribution to ‘All about Layering 1’. I like how I used the Zig Wink of Stella Clear pen, and concentrating on just the one rose.

All about layering 2 b name 1

 

 

2 thoughts on “All about Layering 2”

  1. These are such pretty cards!! Thanks so much for entering your beautiful work in the AECP assignment Gallery. Beautiful colors and design. Well done!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.